FIH Hockey Player of the Year and All-Star Teams

Information on awards given to the world’s top hockey players

Each year since 1998 the international hockey federation (the FIH) chooses its player of the year.

The 2011 women’s player of the year was only announced at the Champions Trophy held in early 2012. The winner was Dutch midfielder Maartje Paumen.

List of winners of the FIH Player of the Year Awards


1998 Stephan Veen NED
1999 Jay Stacy AUS
2000 Stephan Veen NED
2001 Florian Kunz GER
2002 Michael Green GER
2003 Teun de Nooijer NED
2004 Jamie Dwyer AUS
2005 Teun de Nooijer NED
2006 Teun de Nooijer NED
2007 Jamie Dwyer AUS
2008 Pol Amat ESP
2009 Jamie Dwyer AUS
2010 Jamie Dwyer AUS
2011 Jamie Dwyer AUS


1998 Alyson Annan AUS
1999 Natascha Keller GER
2000 Alyson Annan AUS
2001 Luciana Aymar ARG
2002 Cecilia Rognoni ARG
2003 Mijntje Donners NED
2004 Luciana Aymar ARG
2005 Luciana Aymar ARG
2006 Minke Booij NED
2007 Luciana Aymar ARG
2008 Luciana Aymar ARG
2009 Luciana Aymar & Naomi van As ARG / NED
2010 Luciana Aymar ARG
2011 Maartje Paumen NED

Most wins


Jamie Dwyer (Aus) 5

Teun de Nooier (Ned) 3

Stephan Veen (Ned) 2


Luciana Aymar (Arg) 7 (1 shared)

Alyson Annan (Aus) 2

Each year since 2006 the international hockey federation (the FIH) chooses a team of the best players from around the world.

For information about international hockey go to the FIH website and for the complete all-star teams use this link:

FIH All-Star Teams

Most appearances in the all-star teams


Jamie DWYER  (Aus) 6
Eddie Ockenden (Aus) 4
Moritz Fürste  (Ger) 4
Jong HO SEO (Kor) 4
Bevan GEORGE (Aus) 3
Guus VOGELS (Ned) 3
Santiago FREIXA  (Esp)3
Markus Weise (Ger-Coach) 3
Max Muller (Ger) 3
Matthias WITTHAUS  (Ger) 3
Taeke TAEKEMA (Ned) 3
Pol AMAT (Esp) 3
Barry Middleton (Eng) 3


Luciana Aymar  (Arg) 6
Natascha Keller (Ger) 5
Janneke SCHOPMAN (Ned) 4
Maartje Paumen (Ned) 4
Baorong Fu (Chn) 3
Minke Booij (Ned) 3
Noel Barrionuevo (Arg) 3
Carla Rebecchi (Arg) 3
Christa CULLEN (Eng) 3
Helen Richardson (Eng) 3
Madonna Blyth (Aus) 3
Fanny Rinne (Ger) 3
Kaori CHIBA (Jap) 3
Maria Jesus ROSA DURAN (Esp) 3
Tina BACHMANN (Ger) 3
Naomi van As (Ned) 3
Marsha Marescia (RSA) 3

British players included  in all-star teams

Alistair McGregor
Barry Middleton (3 times)
James Fair
Ashley Jackson (twice)

Crista Cullen (3 times)
Alex Danson
Helen Richardson (3 times)
Beth Storry
Danny Kerry (coach)

2011 FIH All-Star Teams

David van Rysselberghe (GK) BEL Yvonne Frank (GK) GER
Max Weinhold (GK) GER Joyce Sombroek (GK) NED
Felix Denayer BEL Willemijn Bos NED
Max Müller GER Julia Müller GER
Ramon Alegre ESP Noel Barrionuevo ARG
Wouter Jolie NED Kobie McGurk AUS
Matthew Swann AUS Katelyn Falgowski USA
Tobias Hauke GER Luciana Aymar ARG
Moritz Fürste GER Helen Richardson ENG
Sardar Singh IND Maartje Paumen NED
Teun de Nooijer NED Gemma Flynn NZL
Eddie Ockenden AUS Kim Da Rae KOR
Tom Boon BEL Alex Danson ENG
Florian Fuchs GER Natascha Keller GER
Jamie Dwyer AUS Carla Rebecchi ARG
Nick Wilson NZL Soledad Garcia ARG
Lucas Vila ARG Anita Punt NZL
Santi Freixa ESP Pietie Coetzee RSA
Colin Batch – Coach of Belgium AUS Mark Hager – Coach of NZL AUS
Paul Revington – Coach of Ireland RSA Max Caldas – Coach of NED ARG

For information about international hockey go to the FIH website and for the complete all-star teams use this link:

FIH All-Star Teams

This entry was posted in Award winners, Hockey, Sport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s