Weightlifting:Olympic Records

Weightlifting has been included in every Olympic Games of the modern era. Women’s competition was introduced in 2000.

Records for the different weight divisions showing the weight lifted, record holder and Games where the record was set.

Most Gold Medals

Four men have won three Gold Medals

Pyrros Dimas Greece 1992–2000 (also won a bronze in 2004)
Kakhi Kakhiashvili Greece 1992–2000
Halil Mutlu Turkey 1996–2004
Naim Süleymanoglu Turkey 1988–1996

The record number of medals is four by Dimas, Nikolay Peshalov (Bulgaria/Croatia) from 1996 to 2004, Ronny Weller (East Germany/Germany) 1988-2000, and Norb Schemansky (USA) 1948-1964.

The most golds won by a woman is two by Chen Yanqing (China) and Liu Chunhong (China) in the Games of 2004 and 2008.  They were joined on two golds in 2016 by Hsu Shu-ching of Chinese Taipei and Rim Jong-sim of North Korea who also won gold in 2012.

This entry was posted in Olympic Games, Records, Weightlifting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s