Diving:Olympic Records

Diving has been included in the Olympic Games since 1904 and women have competed since 1912. Synchronised diving events were introduced in 2000.

Most Gold Medals

5 Wu Minxia (China) 2004-2016 (four in 3m synchro one at 3m solo)

5 Chen Ruolin (China) 2008-2016 (three in 10m synchro, two 10m solo)

4 Guo Jingjing [ China ] 2000–2008 (also won two silver medals)
4 Fu Mingxia [ China ] 1992–2000
4 Greg Louganis [ United States ] 1976–1988
4 Pat McCormick [ United States ] 1952–1956
3 Klaus Dibiasi [ Italy ] 1964–1976
3 Ni Xiong [ China ] 1988–2000
3 Ingrid Krämer [ Germany ] 1960–1964

Fu Minxia, Pat McCormick,Klaus Dibiasi, Ingrid Kramer and Greg Louganis won all of their golds in single diver events. Louganis is the only man to win 4 golds.  Klaus Dibiasi is the only diver to win the same solo event at three consecutive Olympics (the 10m platform from 1968-76).

Most Medals

Dimitri Sautin (Russia)  won 8 medals (2 gold, 2 silver,4 bronze) between 1992 and 2008.

Wu Minxia has won a record seven medals by a woman (five golds,  one silver, one bronze)

This entry was posted in Diving, Olympic Games, Records and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s