Modern Pentathlon:Olympic Games Records

Modern Pentathlon was introduced into the Olympic Games in 1912 and has been held in different forms at every Games since.  A team event was held from 1952 to 1992.  Women first competed in 2000.

Most Gold Medals

András Balczó (Hungary) won three gold medals (one individual and two team) and two silver medals between 1960 and 1972.

Two men have won the individual gold medal on more than one occasion.

Lars Hall (Sweden)  (1952,1956) and Andrey Moiseyev (Russia)  (2004,2008)

Most Medals

Pavel Lednyov (USSR) won a record seven medals between 1968 and 1980 in the days when there was a team competition. He won four individual medals.

Carlo Massullo (Italy) won five medals between 1984 and 1992.  Balczo also won five medals.

No woman has ever won more than one medal of any colour.

This entry was posted in Modern Pentathlon, Olympic Games, Records and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s