Golf: Women’s British Open

The Women’s British Open was established in 1976 but only started to attract many of the best players in 1994 when it became part of the LPGA tour. It was recognised as one of the Majors in 2001.

Most wins:

3 Karrie Webb (Aus)   1995,1997,2002

3 Sherri Steinhauer (US)   1998,1999,2006

2 Yani Tseng (Tai)   2010,2011  (the only two-time winner since it became a Major)

2 Debbie Massey (US)   1980,1981 (before it became an LPGA event)


Tournament Record Score

269 Karen Stupples (Eng) in 2004 and Karrie Webb (Aus) in 1997. These scores are also the lowest in relation to par at -19 and both were made at Sunningdale.

This entry was posted in Golf, Records and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s