World Sailor of the Year Award Winners

The award was inaugurated in 1994 by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) and is open to sailors in all disciplines including match racing, Olympic classes and Round the World races.



1994 Peter Blake (NZL) and Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR)
1995 Russell Coutts (SUI)
1996 Jochen Schumann (GER)
1997 Pete Goss (GBR)
1998 Ben Ainslie (GBR)
1999 Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL)
2000 Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl (USA)
2001 Robert Scheidt (BRA)
2002 Ben Ainslie (GBR)
2003 Russell Coutts (SUI)
2004 Robert Scheidt (BRA)
2005 Fernando Echavarri and Anton Paz (ESP)
2006 Mike Sanderson (NZL)
2007 Ed Baird (USA)
2008 Ben Ainslie (GBR)
2009 Torben Grael (BRA)
2010 Tom Slingsby (AUS)
2011 Iker Martinez & Xabier Fernandez (ESP)
2012 Ben Ainslie (GBR)


1994 Theresa Zabell (ESP)
1995 Isabelle Autissier (FRA)
1996 Lee Lai Shan (HKG)
1997 Ruslana Taran and Elena Pakholchik (UKR)
1998 Carolijn Brouwer (NED)
1999 Margriet Matthijsse (NED)
2000 Shirley Robertson (GBR)
2001 Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2002 Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2003 Siren Sundby (NOR)
2004 Sofia Bekatorou and Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2005 Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2006 Paige Railey (USA)
2007 Claire Leroy (FRA)
2008 Alessandra Sensini (ITA)
2009 Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)
2010 Blanca Manchon (ESP)
2011 Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)
2012 Lijia Xu (CHN)

Most Wins

4 Ben Ainslie (GBR)


This entry was posted in Award winners, Sailing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s