British Hall of Fame 1908

Four more additions to my British Sports Hall of Fame.

Jamie Anderson (Golf) – Winner of the Open golf championship in three consecutive years from 1877 to 1879. Was also runner-up twice (1873,1881).

John Jarvis (Swimming) – Won two gold medals at the 1900 Olympics, the 1000m and the 4000m (which he won by 11 minutes). In the 1906 Olympics he won a silver and two bronzes. He set many world best times and was also a water-polo international.

Guy Nickalls (Rowing) – Won a record 23 medals at the Henley Regatta including six wins in the Diamond Sculls between 1888 and 1894. He won a gold medal in the eights at the 1908 Olympics.

Maud Watson (Tennis) – The first ever women’s singles champion at Wimbledon in 1884. she retained her title the following year but lost in the Challenge Round in 1886. She also won singles titles in the Irish and Welsh championships.

This entry was posted in Hall of Fame and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s