World Sports Hall of Fame 1911

Four more of my nominations:

Charlie Barr (USA- Sailing)  The first sailor to skipper a yacht to victory in the America’s Cup three times. He achieved this in 1899, 1901 and 1903. He also set the fastest time for sailing across the Atlantic. This record set in 1905, lasted until 1980 and wasn’t beaten by a monohull until 1997.

Thorvald Ellegaard (Denmark- Cycling)  Winner of the world professional sprint title six times (1901-3,06,08,11) and four times runner-up. He won 925 races in his career.

Ulrich Salchow (Sweden – Figure Skating) The greatest skater of the early twentieth century. He won the world championships ten times between 1901 and 1911 (still a record total). He also won the Olympic title in 1908 and the European title a record nine times.

Gudbrand Skatteboe (Norway – Shooting) Winner of three gold medals at the 1906 Intercalated Olympics. He also won a gold medal at the 1908 Olympics and two other silver medals at other Games.

This entry was posted in Hall of Fame and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s