Olympic Records in Boxing

Boxing has been contested at all Olympics since 1904 with the exception of 1912.

Women’s boxing was introduced into the Olympics in 2012.

Three men have won three Olympic titles.

Laszlo Papp (Hungary) at Middleweight in 1948 and Light-Middleweight in 1952 and 1956

Teofilo Stevenson (Cuba) at Heavyweight from 1972 to 1980

Felix Savon at Heavyweight from 1992 to 2000

One boxer, Oliver Kirk (USA) who won gold at featherweight and bantamweight in 1904, has won two golds at the same Games.

Two women have won golds in both Games where women have taken part in boxing.

Claressa Shields (USA) at Middleweight and Nicola Adams (GB) at Flyweight

This entry was posted in Boxing, Olympic Games, Records and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s