The Sports History Chronicle Sportsman of the Year 2019 is Nathan Chen. The Greatest Sportsmen of the Decade

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya – Athletics) – ran the second fastest marathon ever in a race.  In a paced challenge ran the first sub two hour marathon.

Nathan Chen (USA – Figure Skating) – world champion, won all his competitions and set a world record score.

Nikita Kucherov (Russia – Ice Hockey) record for most points in an NHL season during the salary cap era, 128 points

Marc Márquez  (Spain – Moto GP) won 12 races, breaking the single-season points and podium records with 420 points and 18 podium finishes from 19

Caeleb Dressel (USA – Swimming) – won six golds and two silvers at the world championships.  Broke the 100m butterfly world record.

Johannes Høsflot Klæbo (Norway – Nordic Skiing won the overall 2018-19 World Cup and extended his own record of most sprint victories in a single World Cup season, with 8 wins.  Three golds at the world championships.

My runners-up are:

Marc Marquez who continues to dominate the sport and had one of the best seasons seen in Moto GP.

Caeleb Dressel who not only won six golds but broke by a good margin a record that had stood for ten years.

My sportsman of the year is Nathan Chen.  Records in figure skating are broken frequently which caused me to think closely about the merits of Chen’s performances but I decided that Chen did enough.  He won all six individual competitions and set the two highest scores ever an the fifth highest, winning the world title by a huge margin.

Embed from Getty Images

Previous Winners

2018 Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya – Athletics),  Runners-up Oleksandr Usyk (Ukraine) ,Marcel Hirscher (Austria – Skiing)

2017 Brent Lakatos (Canada – Para athletics), Runners-up Nino Schurter (Switzerland – Mountain Biking), Tomoyuki Matsuda (Japan – Shooting), Lasha Talakhadze (Georgia – Weightlifting)

2016 Martin Fourcade (France – Biathlon) Runners-Up: Ihar Boki (Belarus -Para Swimming), Michael Jung, (Germany – Three Day Event), Wayde Van Niekerk (South Africa -Athletics), Peter Prevc (Slovenia – Ski-Jumping)
2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia – Tennis): Runners-up Ma Long (China – Table Tennis) , Ihar Boki (Belarus – Para Swimming)
2014 Renaud Lavillenie (France – Athletics): Runners-up Sebastian Brendel (Germany – Canoeing), Giles Scott (England – Sailing)
2013 – Teddy Riner (France-Judo) won a 6th world title and unbeaten since 2010:Runners-Up: Peyton Manning (USA – American Football), Sun Yang (China – Swimming)
2012 – Lionel Messi (Argentina -Football) – 91 goals in the year: Runners up: David Rudisha (Kenya – Athletics), Ilya Ilyin (Kazakhstan – Weightlifting) , Sun Yang (China – Swimming), Sergei Martynov (Belarus – Shooting)


Numbers quoted are for the 2010s decade only

Nino Schurter (Switzerland – Mountain Biking) – seven times world champion and seven world cup titlesO

Martin Fourcade (France – Biathlon) 24 world cup titles including 7 overall.  Five Olympic golds and 11 world championships.

Marcel Hirscher (Austria – Skiing) eight overall world titles, plus six each in slalom and giant slalom.  Two Olympic and seven world championship golds

Ihar Boki (Belarus -Para Swimming) – eleven Parlympic golds and eleven world championships plus many world records.

Novak Djokovic (Serbia – Tennis) – fifteen Grand Slam titles (including six Australian and five Wimbledon singles titles.  More than five years ranked world number one.

Rafa Nadal (Spain – Tennis) 13  Grand Slam singles titles including 8 French Opens four US Opens.

Ma Long (China – Table Tennis) held the ranking of number 1 for a total of 64 months, the most by any male player in the history of table tennis.  World champion three times, Olympic gold,twice world cup winner.

Sebastian Brendel (Germany – Canoeing) – three Olympic golds and twelve world championships.

Teddy Riner (France-Judo) – ten World Championships gold medals, the first and only judoka (male or female) to do so, and two Olympic gold medals.

Lionel Messi (Argentina -Football) – five Ballons d’Or in the decade and more than 30 goals in every season

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal – Football) –  five Ballons d’Or, more than 300 goals, four UEFA Champions Leagues and a European Championship with his country.

Tom Brady (USA – American Football) – three Superbowl wins and two other appearances.  Twice league MVP, voted to nine ProBowls

Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya – Athletics) – Regarded as the greatest marathoner ever Kipchoge has won 12 of the 13 marathons he has entered including the Olympics. Set the world record and ranunder two hours.

Peter Sagan (Slovakia – Cycling) – winner of the Green jersey points classification of the Tour de France a record seven times and three times world road race champion

Kohei Uchimura (Japan – Gymnastics) – five times world all-around and twice Olympic champion.  Also won four other world golds.

Marc Marquez (Spain – Moto GP) – six times Moto GP champion

Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain – Formula One) – five time world champion in the decade

Adam Peaty (Great Britain – Swimming) – Olympic champion and eight world golds at 50m and 100m breaststroke and relay.  Set eleven world records

Mikaël Kingsbury (Canada – Freestyle Skiing) – Olympic gold, four world golds and eight world cup title in moguls.  Eight overall world cups.

This entry was posted in All-time Greats, Award winners and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s